What's NewComing SoonOpeningMiddlegameEndgameSets/BoardsDiscountsDVDsDownloadsApps & eBooks


How Chess Games are Won and Lost

Examining the FIVE Stages of a Chess Game
by Lars Bo Hansen

How Chess Games are Won and Lost

Our Price: $ 28.95 (Paying in US$ only for customers in the US and Canada)

Publisher: Gambit, 2008
Edition: Paperback large
Pages: 256
Language: English

Traditionally, chess games have been divided into three stages - opening, middlegame and endgame - and general principles presented for how to handle each stage. All chess-players will be well aware that these principles all too frequently fail to help in their selection of the best move.

In this important work, Lars Bo Hansen, grandmaster and professional educator, presents chess as a game of five phases, and explains the do's and don'ts in each: * the opening * the transition to the early middlegame * the middlegame * strategic endgames * technical endgames *

With a wealth of examples from both his own practice and that of his colleagues, Hansen discusses the typical mistakes and pitfalls, and shows how to handle the subtleties unique to each stage. He also advises on how to work on your chess in each aspect of the game.

Of special value is his explanation of how to study typical middlegames, and that middlegame preparation - a neglected area for most players - is both possible and necessary.

Lars Bo Hansen is a well-known grandmaster from Denmark. He has won the Danish Championship on two occasions, and represented his country in four olympiads, winning a bronze medal for his individual performance in 1990. His many tournament victories include first prize in the strong Copenhagen Open in both 1997 and 2000.

Away from the board, he teaches and lectures on business studies, with a particular focus on marketing, organization and strategy. This is his third book for Gambit.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Dvoretsky's Analytical ManualWinning Chess MiddlegamesSt. Petersburg 1909Rook Against Two PiecesThe Art of the Middle Game
Dvoretsky's Analytical Manual Second EditionWinning Chess Middlegames An Essential Guide to Pawn StructuresSt. Petersburg 1909 New 21st Century Edition of a Famous Tournament BookRook Against Two Pieces Detailed and ProfoundThe Art of the Middle Game
Browse products

  view all authors
  view all publishers
Euro / US Dollar / GB Pound