What's NewComing SoonOpeningMiddlegameEndgameSets/BoardsDiscountsDVDsDownloadsApps & eBooks


Kasparov: How His Predecessors Misled Him About Chess

The Unofficial 6th Volume of the Great Predecessors Series
by Tibor Karolyi, Nick Aplin

Kasparov: How His Predecessors Misled Him About Chess
Larger view

Our Price: € 18,95

Publisher: Batsford, 2009
Edition: Paperback medium
Pages: 272
Language: English

Making fun of Kasparov's chess technique - these guys have cheek!

Over the past few years the great chess player Garry Kasparov has written five best-selling books praising the contributions to chess made by the previous world champions. The series is called ''My Great Predecessors'.

As a reaction to this wonderful series of books, leading chess writer Tibor Károlyi has written this imaginary sixth volume.

In gently humorous – but chessically serious – style, the author imagines Kasparov is annotating over 70 of his own lost games, and blaming all these defeats on the bad influence of each of the previous world champions, providing in-depth analysis to show how he was misled by them.

The book also serves as a highly instructive, practical chess book – to beat Kasparov, the greatest player of all time, took some pretty special chess, and readers will enjoy learning from this.

It is astonishing how the author has managed to find so many games that exhibit uncanny similarities between Kasparov and his predecessors, which makes the content of the book extremely plausible – as if Kasparov himself were writing it.

This is a brilliant and totally original chess book that could only have been written by someone with great knowledge of Kasparov and the past world champions.

Tibor Károlyi is an International Master, former Hungarian champion and Grandmaster chess trainer. He is also a chess writer who regularly contributes to a number of British and European magazines, and is acknowledged as an expert on Kasparov's career. He is the co-author of "Kasparov's Fighting Chess: 1999–2005" and of Endgame Virtuoso Anatoly Karpov, which won The Guardian 2007 Chess Book of the Year Award.

Nick Aplin is a highly respected chess player and writer. He lives in Singapore.

Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought

Winning Chess MiddlegamesSt. Petersburg 1909New York 1924MATTEN, Schaakverhalen 12SOS – Secrets of Opening Surprises 10
Winning Chess Middlegames An Essential Guide to Pawn StructuresSt. Petersburg 1909 New 21st Century Edition of a Famous Tournament BookNew York 1924 21st Century Edition of an Alekhine ClassicMATTEN, Schaakverhalen 12 In dit nummer o.a.: In de reuzenschaduw van J.H.DonnerSOS – Secrets of Opening Surprises 10 No Time to Study Chess Opening Theory?
Browse products

  view all authors
  view all publishers
Special Discounts
Euro / US Dollar / GB Pound