My Great Predecessors Part I: Steinitz/Lasker/Capablanca/Alekhine

  • We ship all over the world
  • Expert customer service
  • Money-back guarantee

>>> Winner of the English Chess Federation Book of the Year 2003 Award

The battle for the World Chess Championship has witnessed numerous titanic struggles which have engaged the interest not only of chess enthusiasts but also of the public at large. The chessboard is the ultimate mental battleground and the world champions themselves are supreme intellectual gladiators.

These magnificent compilations of chess form the basis of the first two parts of Garry Kasparov's definitive history of the World Chess Championship. Garry Kasparov, who is universally acclaimed as the greatest chessplayer ever, subjects the play of his predecessors to a rigorous analysis.

Part one features the play of champions Wilhelm Steinitz (1886-1894), Emanuel Lasker (1894-1921), Jose Capablanca (1921-1927) and Alexander Alekhine (1927-1935 and 1937-1946).

More Information
Edition : Hardcover
Publication date : July 1, 2003
Number of pages : 464
Publisher : Everyman
Weight : 996 gram
ISBN : 9781857443301